I cannot believe at this day and age that people still hold onto racism. I’m literally shocked at people’s behavior toward racism, especially in the Presidential election. I mean it’s so obviously simple. You have a choice between someone who is white but also old, oblivious to current events, and out of touch with reality or someone who is black but also young, aware of what’s going on in the world, and extremely intelligent. Racist or not, do you really want someone in the White House that is going to continue with the last eight years of failed policies? Or are you so caught up in racial issues that you don’t see things clearly? How stupid to vote for someone just because of the color of their skin! More specifically, how stupid to NOT vote for someone just because of the color of their skin!
I mean, there has been a display of extreme opposites here. John McCain seems to be a man who is extreme in so many ways and makes radical decisions at the drop of a hat. And by that I don’t mean smart choices. Then there is Barack Obama who weighs his options carefully to make sure he is making the seemingly best decision he can. Haven’t we had enough of Bush’s radical decision-making? And how is John McCain any different?
John McCain professed over and over (almost beating a dead horse) about how he crosses party lines. While this might be true in theory, he still voted 90% of the time with Bush’s policies. The only thing that tells me is that he didn’t stand up against his own party when it was necessary, only when it was convenient for him. He seems to surround himself with prosperous people and is only aware of their needs and complaints. He was even planning to give them a tax cut. What makes him think they need it, or is this just a meaningless favor for his peers?
On the other hand, Barack Obama has created change and hope in all avenues he has crossed in his life. He has done an incredible job of helping the local schools of Chicago and is very aware of how important children are to our future. He surrounds himself with the best of the best to get a job done and then follows through. He is not concerned about the rich because the rich always seem to prosper. They are not the ones who need help and he knows that. Is this message not clear enough for people to understand?
I just don’t get it. I have to say that I am personally happy and content over the fact that Barack Obama won the Presidency. But I also don’t have a racist bone in my body. I feel as though he is the best candidate for the job and, more importantly, he has spread hope around the world (something that is very much needed now). I have had enough of Bush’s fear tactics and I really don’t see how John McCain’s tactics are any different. He has riled up all of his “followers” at most of his rallies instilling fear and disgust about his opponent. His running mate, Sarah Palin, did the same and in an even more extreme way. And they did this to the point where American Republicans were screaming “Off with his head!“ among other horrific things about Barack Obama. Would they stop at nothing to get what they want? Toward the end, McCain even stated to the media that Obama can run in 2012, but now it’s his turn!
His selfishness has rung true every time he has opened his mouth. Toward the end of the race, he practically yelled at the media out of frustration (probably because he was losing). And then apologized for it as if that would make it all better. But it was already out there. You can’t take it back now. It’s too late. (Does the War in Iraq come to mind?) His public display shows how unhinged he really is. And there are so many other situations going so far back in his life. This is obviously a part of his character, not temporary frustration. He has a history of doing ridiculous, sporadic, foolish things. Clearly, he is not a level-headed person and definitely not right for the highest position in the country. We have already experienced radical, sporadic decision-making for the last eight years. Does this way of thinking help any person in any aspect of their personal life? Surely, this is not “healthy thinking” and since it doesn’t work on a personal level, why would it on a global level?
So, too bad so sad Republicans! When you put up an idiot for so many years eventually the people will stand in unity and speak out. Your party has become a ridiculous spectacle to our country and to the world! You don’t even have a ground to stand on. You bitch and complain about Democratic policy but yet you took a Democratic surplus and turned it into a Republican deficit, bigger than any we have ever seen in history! What makes you think you can continue to instill fear and harbor greed without the people standing up?
Racist or not, get over it! The people have spoken.
I created this blog so that I can rant about different subjects that I read about and/or think about. Comments are encouraged whether you agree or disagree. Either way, please enjoy and thanks for taking the time to read my ramblings...
●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●
Wednesday, November 5, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment