I created this blog so that I can rant about different subjects that I read about and/or think about. Comments are encouraged whether you agree or disagree. Either way, please enjoy and thanks for taking the time to read my ramblings...
●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●•●

Monday, May 25, 2009

Annoyance or Privilege?

It's ridiculous to me that the mentality of our society is that everyone (I use this term loosely) hates to work, hates to be at work, hates to think about work -- unless they're bitching about it. You can't wait to take your vacation time just so you don't have to be at work. Then you get a chance to take it easy and relax away from work -- and instead of feeling rested and ready to go back, you just bitch about how you have to go back! Ha! At least you have a job! Some people don't have one and can't get one. At what point did our society decide that working was an annoyance and not a privilege?

Any and every person out there should be happy that someone thought highly enough of them to hire them and pay them to do a job that could have gone to someone else. I don't care if all you do is shovel shit -- it's a job and you're being paid to do it! Without it, how are you going to eat?

Think of this: What if someone came into your home and said to you, "Your job is going to be shoveling shit for the rest of your life. No one is going to pay you to do it, but you have to do your job or we'll take all your freedoms away." Now see, this I can see feeling bitter about and this situation definitely warrants bitching to some degree. However, the job that you yourself went out and chose to interview for, then chose to accept the job for DOES NOT! You can even get another job if you're not happy with this one!

Or this: What if you were mentally or physically handicapped and couldn't perform your job that you have now? Or any other job for that matter? What if you were even more dependent and needed assistance from others to take care of you? Would you feel cheated that you couldn't work because you have an inner desire for independence? Would you find yourself in a position of jealousy because others can work and you can't?

Honestly, I'm not even sure of the answer to this question considering how many people are out there abusing government funded disability. I guess when you can no longer abuse the welfare system, this is the way to go. (By the way, this has nothing to do with the honest people out there who actually are handicapped in some way and really can't work. These people should get all the help they require and then some.)

So, how many out there are pretending to be more diabled than they really are? And, for that matter, how many healthy people out there are just plain pretending to be disabled when they're not? I'm not really sure which is worse -- pretending to be disabled or pretending to be more disabled than you are -- all because you would rather collect a disability check than be a productive member of society. Now I'm not saying all, but I know a lot of people feel that they are "owed" this check either because of how they've been treated by the government or because of how "hard" their life is. News flash: Everyone's life is hard sometimes and it is up to you to change how your life is going. In other words, the government didn't bring you into this world and it's not up to them to sustain your life! They don't owe you!

So, what happened to society's opinion of working? How did the American people go from having a "good work ethic" to pure laziness? What needs to happen in order for people to wake up? A major scale job loss? A severe depression? And look what this mentality has done to the health of the American people -- everyone is fat and lazy and we have become avid worshipers of the TV God!

So, before I go ask yourself this question: Who exactly should be responsible for feeding and clothing you, if it's not you? I mean it's your life, not someone elses. Or did you forget that part as you consume your abundance of food sitting in front of the boob tube? Enjoy the privilege you've been given! It will make you feel better about your life! And God help me, please WAKE UP!

No comments: